Posted by: pumzy | July 14, 2008

Thinking About The Future

Being away from your family to work is bitter-sweet experience.

Homesick versus dollars.

An employee is compensated better financially when he’s working abroad. He learns new culture and sees new things and places. It sounds exciting especially for first timers setting off of their home land to venture on an adventure of working elsewhere.

Then homesickness hits you.

You feel jaded, tired, worn off. Then there goes the paranoia and endless questions inside your mind. When  you’ve been away for a good chunk of your lifetime, you start to think more and more about your future. These questions might pester your thoughts over and over again:

  • Will I still be laboring away from your family in the next five years?
  • Will I ever get a decent, high paying job in my own country when my skill sets are honed and practiced in a very different job culture abroad?
  • Will my young kids recognize me when I go back home?
  • What will I do next after this phase in my life?

Those are just some of the things that I ask myself too. There are more questions knocking on my head especially at night when I’m about to shut down my day. Keeps me awake all night.

Maybe I should think about investing on something so that in the near future I would not have to try my luck in the greener pasture that foreign lands offer. I don’t know. Right now I don’t have anything in my mind except my family and my work. Maybe I should just relax first. Or drink a cup of coffee. Or count how many more days I have to endure before I get back home. Still a long way to go… I guess I should just get myself a  cup of coffee.

Responses

  1. Hi to all the OFW’s who visit this blog, I’d like to invite you to join the new social network of the Overseas Filipino Workers at http://www.ofwfriends.com.

    See you there!


Leave a Reply

Categories

